Islands of Hvar and Korcula- Croatia 

During my time in Croatia, I took a couple of days to visit the islands of Hvar and Korcula. These islands are part of the Dalmatian archipelago with picturesque little towns sprinkled all along their coast and amazing beaches to swim in. These two islands are best accessed from the city of Split in the mainland. I parked my car close to the harbor in Split and took the fast Catamaran to the islands going Split to Hvar to Korcula and back to Split, spending a night in Hvar and one full day on each of the islands.

Hvar

I decided to rent a scooter in Hvar.

Best. Decision. Ever. There is a certain joy to feeling the cool ocean breeze all over your self while riding along the windy roads of this quaint island. The scooter rental guy mapped out an incredible route for me that took me through some beautiful beaches on the way into the island and took me back via a mountenous route with incredible views of the sunset.

I left Hvar town and headed towards Mlini- a small town with a beautiful cove to swim in.



Next stop was the beach of Zarace which ended up being my favorite beach of the day. The descent into the beach from the highway seemed very crazy. It was very steep and only partially paved with lots of round slippery gravel. I think this along with the fact that the cove is not easily seen from the main road deters a lot of people from going here and hence this was the least crowded and the most beautiful of the beaches in Hvar.

The view of the Zarace boat cove from the main road.

From here, I rode on to what now has become the worst kept secret in Hvar. The beach of Dubovica was breathtakingly beautiful but way too crowded and noisy. It has become the most popular beach in the island since being written about in Tripadvisor.


Next stop was the sleepy town of Stari Grad. This little town has been inhabited since 2500 BC by Neolithic man. The town has since been occupied by the Greeks, Romans and the Venetian civilizations. One of the oldest towns in Europe, Stari Grad has still preserved some of the agricultural remains from the Greek era.


These vineyards and vegetable farms have been cultivated since the time of the Greek civilization’s occupancy of the island. Now a designated UNESCO heritage, these farms called Ager can be toured by foot or by bicycles.

Next stop was the picturesque town of Verboska.

Over to Jelsa and a giant ice cream.

On the way back to Hvar, I took the old route via Selca and Brusje. This takes you to the highest elevation on the island with beautiful views of the sunset.

And finally some delicious Thai food right here in the main town square in front of the church.

Korcula

The town of Korcula is shaped like a fish and the streets are shaped like a fish bone.



After exploring the main town for about an hour (coffee, church, souvenir shop etc), I took a bus to the town of Lumbarda on the island, famous for its vineyards growing a grape called Grk to produce wine of the same name. Before indulging in the wine, I headed to one side of the peninsula looking for a beach. Came upon this beach where you could walk a mile into the sea with water just waist deep.

Then crossed a few vineyards that grew Grk to go to the other side of the peninsula for the other beach.



On this second beach, I got what I would consider one of the best full body massages of my life. And then it was time for that glass of Grk.

And then it was back on the catamaran and over to Split.

3 thoughts on “Islands of Hvar and Korcula- Croatia 

  1. Great article! I’m heading to Croatia in October and have been trying to finalize my itinerary. This post really helped. So beautiful, it’s my first trip. I’m going to be scouting wineries since we are in the wine biz, but adding time so we can just have fun as well. Since you like wine, you may enjoy our wine country blog at http://www.topochinesvino.com. Follow us if you like what you see.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Definitely following your blog! Croatian wine scene definitely took me by surprise. I would add Primosten (for their Babec) and Samobor (for their Bermet) to your list of places to try wines at while in Croatia.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

